279: Worrying about what I can’t Control

It appears we are in a drought here in Wellington. There was a picture of a glass of water in the paper and it was (under) half empty. Oh dear. I feel like the guy from the movie 127 hours with my deserthand stuck in the rock. Soon I will be drinking my own urine or blood or something. I worry and I fret about the water running out. I do camel pose in a half arsed attempt to draw all my water inside to my kidneys. I can almost feel my skin drying up. I’m doomed.

Of course it’s quite likely I won’t dry of dehydration. I’m more likely to step outside my house and fall into the sea instead.

When we worry it’s like we have given ourselves a job to do. The brain, without anything to really worry about will create something. Why is it that I’m fretting and no one else? Simply because I have chosen to.

The woman in the sushi shop has finished her happy, happy lunch and has left half a bottle of water behind. She’s not worried, that’s for sure.
I wonder if I should take the bottle with me on my way out. No, too desperate, I’ll just keep it internal for now and later commit some other pathetic act when no one is looking.

Worry is like being in a rocking chair, you really aren’t going anywhere with it. And of course our great life disasters are things we never ever saw coming.

Practice for today: Please save a bit of water to keep me happy. Then think about your day. Was there unnecessary worry in it? Is what you worry about a reality or something that you are making up? Is what you worry about true?

3 Comments on “279: Worrying about what I can’t Control

  1. Thanks Gabrielle, I’m continuing to thoroughly enjoy your blog, keep em coming!
    Today this line shone our for me…
    “Worry is like being in a rocking chair, you really aren’t going anywhere with it. And of course our great life disasters are things we never ever saw coming”.
    I have always liked the rocking chair analogy, hadn’t thought of the last line before tho…. something to think (and not worry) about!

  2. Hi Gabrielle. I’ve really enjoyed reading your blogs – inspirational and humorous!
    It’s reassuring to know that we all have doubts, insecurities and anxieties about our bodies, careers and life plans. Thank you for being honest and real – it makes us all feel “normal”!

    • Hi Tracey thanks and here I was thinking everyone is going to think I’m totally messed up soon so it’s great to get that feedback and to know that everyone shares the same feelings, not just me!

Leave a Reply

