267: After the ecstacy is the Laundry

What if my life was a lot more exciting? I’d be in that flash car I saw yesterday and I’d be zooming into the sunset with fab people. I’d be travelling around the world going to yoga conferences and studios in LA. I’d probably have more money and wealth and of course I’d be a lot happier.

After the ecstasy is the laundry– Jack Kornfield.

I contemplate this as I scrub the shower with baking soda. The grime is not coming off and I have managed to spray myself with the water. There is also another shower to go which I will clean badly as well. Then the beds, the washing the benches. The only thing that is keeping me going is that I have promised myself a coffee at ten and when I drink that I’ll be happy again.

My teacher told me when we were learning our routine, which was the same day in and day out, that if we were bored with it then it is our problem, not the routine. Hmmmmh!

What if our living our  life more fully was being more where we are, where ever that might be? What if living a life less ordinary was not trying to get somewhere special but where we are right now? How would things be for us if we could fully embrace the dishes just as much as the fast cars and sunsets? If we step out of preferencing for other situations and sit with what we have then we become present. As the big neon sign says in Vegas, ‘you have to be present to win’.

Practice for today: Where ever you are or what ever you are doing, let that be enough. Let your life be wonderful whatever form it takes rather than wishing you were somewhere else.

Jack Kornfield is a teacher in the vipassana movement of American Theravada Buddhism. He trained as a Buddhist monk in Thailand, Burma and India, including as a student of the Thai monk Ajahn Chah.

Tracey Chapman, fast car…. enjoy

Leave a Reply

