264: Namaste to my Neighbours

I love my neighbours and they do come in handy especially when I run out of sugar. I can ring them up and say can I borrow this or that? I spend time at their homes, have them over for dinner, meet them at parties. In fact I think I am more friendly with them than my friends.

So it came as a sort of shock when I asked one of my friends what their neighbours were like. ‘Oh I don’t know them’ came the reply’.

The gesture Namaste represents the belief that there is a Divine spark within each of us that is located in the heart chakra. The gesture is an acknowledgment of the soul in one by the soul in another. Nama means bow, as means I, and te means you. Therefore, namaste literally means “bow me you” or “I bow to you.”

Although the word can be used as a casual hello, when we greet one another with namaste, it means, ‘may our minds meet’, indicated by the folded palms placed before the chest. The bowing down of the head is a gracious form of extending friendship in love, respect and humility.

It recognizes the belief that the life force, the divinity, the Self or the God in me is the same in all. Acknowledging this oneness with the meeting of the palms, we honor the god in the person we meet.

neighbourWe are connected on a molecular, physical, spiritual and intellectual level in some way with the person who lives next door. Dualism or the belief that we are not connected is the basis for all our great wars, with other lands or just with the person next to us. If we truly understood that there was no separation between you and I then petty grievances would melt.

Practice for today: Get to know your neighbours if you don’t already. Can you lessen the degree of separation between yourself and them? Home baking always helps!

Namaste!

I honor the place in you
in which the entire Universe dwells,

I honor the place in you
which is of Love, of Truth, of Light and of Peace,

When you are in that place in you,
and I am in that place in me,
we are One.


3 Comments on “264: Namaste to my Neighbours

  1. Pingback: justsylph

Leave a Reply

