168: Bend it like Bikram

bikram 3Today I am a Japanese Ham Sandwich. This is the heart warming cue given for our forward fold in my first ever Bikram class. If you don’t know Bikram yoga, it is done in the heat and is a series of 24 poses with 2 breathing poses for a total of ninety minutes. By heat I mean sauna hot ( about 40 degrees plus humidity), sometimes it has been referred to lovingly as the torture chamber. I am in the torture chamber trying to not let any of the mayonnaise drip out of  my sandwich as I bend deeper and deeper into my forward fold. Half way though the class I feel like I have sweated out an entire body weight, my sweat towel has become repellant to any more liquids and the humidity has crept up another degree or two. My eyelids and thumbs are sweating and my hair looks like a rat’s nest and I love every minute of its ‘science meets craziness’.

Here is how Bikram reminded me to be human today. Italics are Choudhury quotes

Anytime, any age is good for starting again; You’re never too old, never too bad, never too late and never too sick to start from scratch once again.

Don’t give up on yourself too easily. Each day, each breath is a chance to try again.

Trying your best; Falling out of a posture means you are human; getting back into the posture means you are a yogi.

Fall seven times get up eight. When we fall or fail it is so much easier to give up. It is easy to say to yourself I have failed, I don’t want to do this, I am no good.  What is harder is to get back on the horse. Edison said that he didn’t fail with trying to invent the light bulb 999 times, he just found 999 ways for him to get closer to his goal. It’s not failing, it’s learning.

Forgetting what you know; In life you only have to travel 6 inches. That is the distance from your mind to your heart.

Practice for today: Today try something that you said you would never do or said you can’t do. Enter it with the spirit of open mindedness rather than the lineal workings of logic and thinking. If it doesn’t work out the first time, try again. And if it all fails I would like to leave you one last Choudhury quote just because…

Cheer up, things will get worse.

Funny! Thank you to my lovely teacher Ty who reminded me about the spirit of openness and acceptance

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s never too late, it’s never too bad, and you’re never too old or too sick to start from scratch once again.

 

2 Comments on “168: Bend it like Bikram

  1. Hmmm… Gabie, I feel that I should give Bikram a go now.

    • Ha ha! Li yes give it a go, it’s great to try everything in this world at least once! Also I think you will enjoy the challenge!

Leave a Reply

