130: Carpe Diem

seize the day 2While the world sleeps I’m up at 5am seizing the day, maybe a little early but there is lots to seize in. Teaching yoga, daughter’s leaving ball, blog writing the list goes on. It’s not so much that I have things to get up for but more that I want to get up and be part of the day, enjoying what it has to offer.

Everyone has dreams of what they want to be or how they want to live their lives but few of us actually realise that dream. It is much easier for us to put hurdles in our way than to do what it takes to achieve or live fully. We would rather stay in a dead end job than risk failure of going university. Sitting on the couch staring at TV seems like a safer option than participating in life. Surfing the internet for hours is a anesthetizing way to express your dreams in  a half-hearted way.

How would it be for you then, if you put away the tools that stop you being the best version of yourself? If you put away fear of rejection, judgement, or loss and  you stopped worrying about what others opinions of you were. How would it be if you stopped calculating risk, benefits and disadvantages and follow what is in your heart?

I believe you know what it is that you want to do. I believe we all hold this in lock down until we learn this one sweet thing. Whatever you believe is in the way of doing what it is you need to do, is just an illusion. Your thoughts and fears are not real and they are in the way of your true greatness. When you take one step towards what it is you really love then every step will be easy.

Practice for today: Explore this world your live in and find out what it is that you need to do in order to take that next step to greatness.  Put down the fears, pick up your motivation. Don’t wait until you get ill to wake up, don’t wait for the next earth quake or tragedy to remember, do it now!

Seize the day.

8 Comments on “130: Carpe Diem

  1. I’m grateful I surfed the internet today though; else I may not have read this. Thank you for these great words, Gabrielle. “Whatever you believe is in the way of doing what it is you need to do, is just an illusion.” How we managed to let this illusion dominate our lives makes me shake my head in annoying disbelief. The first step may prove to be the hardest; yet, all it takes to wake up and be alive.

    I still intend to email you. The illusion has been hovering around me lately causing the delays. =)

  2. Wow, thank you for this bit of inspiration today. I got about midway through your article before I just had to go do yoga, something I’d been putting off many days this week because I kept arguing to myself that it would be ‘too hard’ or ‘too straining’ or ‘not really beneficial’. I was, of course, completely wrong in my doubts. ^_^

  3. Lovely post Gab and you are so right my lovely. Our 7am gym classes are always awesome no matter how tired we are – just “lights the fire” for a massive day. Sending lots of love to you

Leave a Reply

